ugandawhere?

God's story in Africa

T-Minus 1 days until the plane takes off for Uganda! January 23, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — hanbeatty @ 5:55 pm

Alright. Well as you can see we’ve got 1 more day until we get on our plane to fly to Heathrow then to Entebbe, Uganda. Oh and by “we” I mean the group of interns that were at orientation in Colorado. “We” is comprised of Jessica (our Canadian), K2, Tim, and me. There are 2 other interns, the Dans. We’ll see them when we get there. They were in Uganda last semester and are getting some well deserved family time in before they come back.

On the 15th of January I left for Colorado Springs to participate in the week long orientation they had prepared for us. I didn’t really want to go to it, because I was so ready to get to Uganda. However, this turned out to be one of the best weeks for me in a long time. There were 26 interns. Some of them are architects, landscape architects, interior designers, civil engineers, and other random engineering disciplines. We were from all over the U.S., there were a handful of Canadians, and two from the U.K. It might seem like we were all different and have very little in common, but I can say I’ve never bonded this deep with so many people in such a short amount of time like this before. It was quite a blessing to come together with all of these people who have the same desire to serve the Lord with the abilities He gave them. It was encouraging to meet others who had quit their jobs, struggled similarly, and were willing to follow the Lord’s call to the ends of the earth. We got to hear everyones’ testimonies and dang a lot of them were so inspiring. So after a week of bonding the first group departed this morning at 5 to get to India. They’ll eventually get there after a 17 hour flight, a 6 hour train ride, and an hour on a bus. The 5 guys going to Costa Rica left at 9am and the final group for today headed to the Middle East at 1 pm. It was so sad to see them all go. We’ll be the next and last group to leave for our destination tomorrow in the late afternoon and naturally the Colorado Springs interns will stay here. So I mentioned earlier that I was ready to go. I don’t think there are any words in my vocab that describe how excited I am. I guess maybe ecstatic? I’m ready for this adventure!

Also here’s a link to a video of my new friends.

 

One Response to “T-Minus 1 days until the plane takes off for Uganda!”

  1. Emery Says:

    Love it Hannah!! Sounds like you are having so much fun! I am not, since I have been sitting at my desk in my room for the past 2 weeks and the rest of this week studying for my boards I take on Friday!! You are doing such awesome things! Keep em comin.


Leave a Reply

